Mud and Gold.

Luang Prabang in Laos was such a wonderful place to see. It was my first view of the Mekong river and I loved the idea that I was finally floating on a river that has filled so many pages, so many films and so many dreams. The town itself is clearly geared for tourists but somehow it manages to retain a slow and untouched feel.

Tourist spectacles are such, for a good reason. They are usually the foundation or formation of the culture that exists today so I try to make an effort to visit them when I can. However, the truth is I’m not a ‘touristy’ type of traveller, I prefer to ‘do it my own way’.

The big problem I have is that in my effort to understand and feel at one with the places I visit, I’m often surrounded by hundreds of others trying to do the same. It makes me feel a bit shallow. So in an effort to escape the masses, I try to find a slightly different perspective of the same view. I don’t always manage that. After all, so many have been before.

Still, I’d rather be one of the few, than one of the many.

DSC_9070

DSC_8005

DSC_7961

DSC_8155

DSC_8440

DSC_9058

DSC_8941

DSC_7938

DSC_8146

DSC_8663

DSC_8852

DSC_9168

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Mud and Gold.

    1. Thanks Eric. I’m happy with borderline, that puts me comfortably in the category of the few rather than the many 🙂

      Thanks so much for following and visiting.

    1. Much appreciated! Thanks for the nice comment Lee. I checked your blog too and I love all the posts – man have you travelled! Keep it up! “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness…” Mark Twain

Comments:

